Automatic Control Council O. Hugo Schuck Award

The American Automatic Control Council (AACC) has awarded Dr. Fengqi You, Roxanne E. and Michael J. Zak Professor, and CBE PhD student, Chao Ning, the prestigious 2020 O. Hugo Schuck Award.

The American Automatic Control Council (AACC) was formed in 1957 and represents the United States to the world automatic control community. Nine professional societies are current members of the AACC – the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA), American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE), American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE), American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME), Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), the International Society for Automation (ISA), the Society for Modeling & Simulation International (SCS), the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM), and Applied Probability Society as a subdivision of the Institute for Operations Research and the Management Sciences (INFORMS APS). AACC is a federation of these professional societies.

The O. Hugo Schuck Award is one of the prestigious awards in the control/automation community. It recognizes up to one paper emphasizing contributions to fundamental theory and one emphasizing significant or innovative applications. Criteria for selection include the quality of the written and oral presentation, the technical contribution, timeliness, and originality. A list of past award winners can be found here:

This award to Prof. You and Chao is in recognition of their research work on a novel hybrid framework combining machine learning and mathematical programming methods for data-driven robust optimization of electric power systems control under renewable energy generation uncertainty. The award will be presented at the 2020 American Control Conference during the Awards Ceremony on July in Denver, Colorado.